California DMV-licensed schools · verified September 7, 2026

What is the best online traffic school in California?

The best online traffic school in California is one that states all four of the facts that decide whether you finish today and the court gets your certificate on time: no timers, an open-book final, pay only after you pass, and same-day reporting. Only 3 of the 37 DMV-licensed online schools we could read state all four on their own site. Best Online Traffic School is one of them: $27.99 for the full package, nothing added at checkout, audio included, DMV license E1314. The others are DMV license E9561 ($19.95 for the full package) and DMV license E0119 ($34.95 for the full package). Every fact is taken from the school’s own site, and Best Online Traffic School is held to the same rule as every other row.

Any DMV-licensed school is accepted by every California court, so “best” is not about the court. It is about not losing an evening to a timer, not failing a closed-book test, not paying before you know you passed, and not missing the deadline because the certificate took three business days. 23 of the 37 schools state they have no timers; 5 let you pay after you pass.

The 10 schools closest to all four

The 10 of 37 DMV-licensed online schools closest to all four, in the order the full index sorts them. Other schools are shown by DMV license, without links; the source page for every fact is in the full index and the CSV. Verified September 7, 2026.
Criteria metSchoolWhat the school statesPrice for the full packageAudio
4 of 4 DMV license E9561look it up in the DMV registry No timers, open-book final, pay after you pass, same-day reporting $19.95 Not stated
4 of 4 Best Online Traffic SchoolBEST ONLINE TRAFFIC SCHOOL · E1314 · this is us No timers, open-book final, pay after you pass, same-day reporting source $27.99 source Included
4 of 4 DMV license E0119look it up in the DMV registry No timers, open-book final, pay after you pass, same-day reporting $34.95 $4.95 extra
3 of 4 DMV license E0584look it up in the DMV registry No timers, open-book final, same-day reporting $5 Sold separately
3 of 4 DMV license E1014look it up in the DMV registry No timers, open-book final, same-day reporting $5 $5 extra
3 of 4 DMV license E1854look it up in the DMV registry No timers, open-book final, same-day reporting $24.95 Not stated
3 of 4 DMV license E0637look it up in the DMV registry No timers, open-book final, same-day reporting $24.95 Not stated
3 of 4 DMV license E0543look it up in the DMV registry No timers, open-book final, pay after you pass, not same-day reporting $28.90List price $19.95 plus certificate and same-day reporting Included
3 of 4 DMV license E1937look it up in the DMV registry No timers, open-book final, not pay after you pass, same-day reporting $33.95 Not offered
3 of 4 DMV license E1924look it up in the DMV registry No timers, open-book final, not pay after you pass, same-day reporting $33.95 Not offered

Download the full index (CSV) california-online-traffic-school-index.csv, 33 KB All 37 schools compared How the index is verified

The four criteria, and why price is only the tiebreaker

  1. No timers. The DMV requires every licensed course to cover the same material. A timer is the school’s choice, and it is the single biggest reason a course takes all day.
  2. Open-book final. You can look back at the material. Closed-book finals are where people fail and pay twice.
  3. Pay after you pass. You take the whole course and the final before any money changes hands.
  4. Same-day reporting. Completion goes to the court and DMV electronically the same day, not within three business days.
  5. Price for the full package breaks ties: list price plus what the school charges for an electronic certificate and same-day reporting. Coupon prices are noted, not used.

Our row, in plain words: $27.99 list price, nothing added at checkout, audio included, no timers, 25-question open-book final, two attempts, pay only after you pass, same-day electronic reporting. DMV license E1314.

Start the course

Questions people ask before they choose

Is the best online traffic school the cheapest one?

No. Price is the tiebreaker, not the test. The order comes from four facts that decide whether you finish today and the court gets your certificate on time: no timers, an open-book final, paying only after you pass, and same-day electronic reporting. 23 of 37 schools state they have no timers; 5 let you pay after you pass. The cheapest schools by full-package price are ranked on their own page.

Does the court care which traffic school I choose?

No. Any school on the DMV list is accepted by every California court for an eligible ticket, and the DMV requires every licensed course to cover the same material. The court only needs the completion reported before your deadline, which is what keeps the ticket off your insurance record (what one ticket adds to car insurance).

How many schools meet all four?

Few. Most DMV-licensed courses fail at least one: timed sections, a closed-book final, payment up front, or completion reported within three business days rather than the same day. The table above shows how many of the four each school states on its own site, and the full index shows every school by name. Our row is built by the same rule as every other row and any correction to it is logged in the changelog.

How do I check a school is really DMV licensed?

Search its E-number on the DMV Occupational License lookup. Every school in the ranking is listed there; 33 of 37 print the number on their site. The full DMV registry is on the index page.

Corrections

If a school’s row is wrong, or its price or policy changed, tell us with a link to the page that shows it. We re-read the page, fix the row, and log the change in the changelog.