California courts ยท verified September 3, 2026

How much is the traffic school fee in California?

The court fee to attend traffic school in California is $52 in 21 counties, and runs from $52 to $82 (San Mateo County) across the 43 courts that publish it. You pay it to the superior court, on top of your fine, when you ask for traffic school. The course itself is a separate charge set by the school. Ours is $27.99.

Every number on this page was read from an official court document on September 3, 2026 and links to the page it came from. 13 counties do not print the amount on their traffic school page; for those the table shows the state base of $52 set by Vehicle Code 42007.1 and says so, because some courts add a local fee. 2 publish nothing at all, so the table gives the clerk’s phone number.

Court fee, days to complete, and extension rule by county

All 58 counties. 43 courts print their fee; 13 charge the state base of $52 unless a local fee is added; 2 publish nothing, so the clerk's number is given. Verified September 3, 2026.
County Court fee to take traffic school Days to complete Extension How to request Court page
Alameda $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call 510-627-4700. 90 days source Extension possible source
what the court says
Extension of the traffic school completion due date is requested online through the court's ticket lookup (webpay citation entry); page does not state extension length.
Mail, OnlineClerk: 510-627-4700 Court's traffic school page
Alpine $52 source 60 days source No extension source
what the court says
No extensions; the clerk cannot grant extensions for traffic school completion.
Online, Phone, Mail, In person Court's traffic school page
Amador $77 source 60 days source Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. In person, Mail Court's traffic school page
Butte $52 source Set by court notice Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. In person, Mail Court's traffic school page
Calaveras $52 source 90 days source Extension possible source
what the court says
Clerks may generally grant a one-time extension of an unresolved infraction on request (call (209) 754-9800); page does not address extensions of the traffic school completion deadline specifically.
Phone, Online, Mail, In person Court's traffic school page
Colusa $52 source 60 days source Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. Mail Court's traffic school page
Contra Costa $67 source Set by court notice Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. Online, Mail, In person Court's traffic school page
Del Norte $52 source 60 days source Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. In person, Mail Court's traffic school page
El Dorado $69 source 90 days source No extension source
what the court says
No extension for traffic school completion.
Online, Mail, In person Court's traffic school page
Fresno $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (559) 457-1700. 90 days source Extension possible source
what the court says
One 90-day extension to complete traffic school may be given by the Clerk's Office if requested before the original due date; no further extensions. Request by phone 559-457-1700, fax 559-457-1710, online contact form, or in person.
In person, MailClerk: (559) 457-1700 Court's traffic school page
Glenn $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (530) 934-6446. Set by court notice Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. PhoneClerk: (530) 934-6446 Court's traffic school page
Humboldt $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (707) 445-7256. Set by court notice Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. Phone, OnlineClerk: (707) 445-7256 Court's traffic school page
Imperial $57 source Set by court notice Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. In person, Phone, Mail Court's traffic school page
Inyo $73 source 60 days source Extension possible source
what the court says
Clerk's Office may give one 60-day extension if requested before the original traffic school due date; no further extensions. Request by calling 760-872-3038 or emailing inyo.traffic@inyocourt.ca.gov.
Online, Mail, In person Court's traffic school page
Kern $69 source 60 days source Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. In person, Mail Court's traffic school page
Kings $69 source 90 days source No extension source
what the court says
No extension of time for traffic school once requested.
In person, Mail Court's traffic school page
Lake $52 source 90 days source No extension source
what the court says
Extensions will not be granted.
Mail, In person, Online Court's traffic school page
Lassen $52 source 90 days source Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. Mail, In person, Online Court's traffic school page
Los Angeles $64 source 64 days source Extension possible source
what the court says
One 60-day extension may be requested from the court via Online Services (find ticket by driver's license or ticket number); option only appears if eligible.
Online, Mail, Phone, In person Court's traffic school page
Madera $74 source 90 days source Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. Mail, In person Court's traffic school page
Marin $52 source 60 days source Extension possible source
what the court says
One 30-day extension to complete traffic violator school may be granted if requested before the certificate due date; no further extensions. Can be requested via the court's automated system.
Online, Phone, In person, Mail Court's traffic school page
Mariposa $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (209) 966-2005. Set by court notice Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. Phone, In person, OnlineClerk: (209) 966-2005 Court's traffic school page
Mendocino $54 source 60 days source Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. Online, In person, Mail, Phone Court's traffic school page
Merced $70 source Set by court notice Extension possible source
what the court says
Page only addresses extensions to post bail or appear (clerk may grant; contact by phone or in person); nothing specific to the traffic school completion date.
Mail, Online, In person, Phone Court's traffic school page
Modoc $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (530) 233-6516. Set by court notice Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. Phone, OnlineClerk: (530) 233-6516 Court's traffic school page
Mono $65 source 60 days source Ask the clerk source
what the court says
Page describes extensions to pay or appear only (request by mail, in person, email traffic@mono.courts.ca.gov, or phone; granted with court approval). Nothing specific to the 60-day traffic school window; failing it closes the case with a conviction.
Mail, Online, In person, Phone Court's traffic school page
Monterey Not published sourceAt least $52 (state base). The court does not publish whether a local fee is added. Call the clerk: (831) 883-5300.
what we checked
IMPORTANT CORRECTION TO EARLIER PASS: the PDF Monterey links as its '2026 Uniform Bail and Penalty Schedule' (monterey.courts.ca.gov/system/files/general/2026-uniform-bail-and-penalty-schedule.pdf) is byte-identical (same MD5) to the file Nevada County links as its own 2026 schedule, i.e. it is the unmodified statewide Judicial Council master template, not a Monterey-customized document. Its 'County Reference Worksheet' (p.136) shows the VC 11205.2 TAP-fee row still at the template's default $0 with an explicit instruction 'If County Amounts Are Different... Insert the Applicable Amount' - meaning $0 cannot be confirmed as Monterey's actual local TAP-fee decision, only the un-edited default. So the earlier derived '$52 total' ($49 statutory + $3 DMV + $0 TAP) is NOT verified as Monterey-specific and has been withdrawn. unverified: $59 per bestonlinetrafficschool.co (our own site; ultimate source unclear, could not be corroborated against any Monterey court document). Statutory floor of $49 (VC 42007.1(a)) + $3 DMV monitoring fee = $52 is confirmed as a minimum, but the county's local TAP-fee addendum (if any) is unknown.
Set by court notice No extension source
what the court says
No extensions of the traffic school completion due date.
Mail, Phone, In personClerk: (831) 883-5300 Court's traffic school page
Napa Not published sourceAt least $52 (state base). The court does not publish whether a local fee is added. Call the clerk: (707) 299-1160.
what we checked
No official Napa court page, PDF (bail schedule, local rules, fines-and-fees page) or archived version back to 2022 states a dollar amount for the traffic-school fee. Napa's local bail-schedule PDF (bail-schedule2025.pdf) is a bare offense/bail list with no Judicial Council narrative or County Reference Worksheet, so the county's VC 11205.2 TAP-fee setting (used to derive Monterey's and Marin's totals) could not be found for Napa. No third-party figure found either (BOTS blog carries no number for Napa). Statutory floor would be $49 (VC 42007.1(a)) + $3 DMV monitoring fee = $52 plus an unknown county TAP fee.
Set by court notice Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. Online, Phone, Mail, In personClerk: (707) 299-1160 Court's traffic school page
Nevada $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (530) 362-4309. Set by court notice Extension possible source
what the court says
Page only describes a one-time 30-day extension of the citation due date / arraignment (request online or contact court before due date); nothing specific to traffic school completion.
Online, In personClerk: (530) 362-4309 Court's traffic school page
Orange $54 source Set by court notice Extension possible source
what the court says
A one-time extension to complete traffic school can be requested through the Automated Information and Payment Center (phone) or online via My Court Portal; OC Pay # required.
Online, Phone, Mail, In person Court's traffic school page
Placer $64.50 source Set by court notice Extension possible source
what the court says
Traffic school page says nothing about extending the completion date. The general traffic page says a continuance (extension) may be granted on written request in person at the clerk's office (or by mail).
Online, Mail, In person, Phone Court's traffic school page
Plumas $52 source 90 days source Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. Online, Mail, Phone Court's traffic school page
Riverside $52 Confirm by phone sourceThe court's archived 2026 web page says $52; a 2024 court brochure still posted on the site says $63. Confirm by phone before paying. Clerk: 951-222-0384 Set by court notice Extension possible source
what the court says
UNVERIFIED (search snippet only): one 60-day extension from the appearance date, requestable online, by mail, or via automated phone 951-222-0384.
Online, PhoneClerk: 951-222-0384 Court's traffic school page
Sacramento $52 source
note
saccourt.ca.gov returns HTTP 403 (Akamai) to curl and WebFetch on every path tried; page could not be read. Search snippet from the court domain claims a $52.00 non-refundable administrative fee, 90 days, and 'No extensions or partial payments are allowed', UNVERIFIED.
90 days source No extension source
what the court says
UNVERIFIED (search snippet only): 'No extensions or partial payments are allowed.'
OnlineClerk: 916-669-5712 Court's traffic school page
San Benito $52 source Set by court notice Extension possible source
what the court says
Clerk's Office may give one 30-day due date extension, requested by telephone (831) 636-4057 or in person at the Traffic Division, 450 Fourth Street, Hollister. Not stated as specific to the traffic school completion date.
In person, Mail, Phone, Online Court's traffic school page
San Bernardino $55 source Set by court notice Extension possible source
what the court says
One-time 60-day extension or two 30-day extensions on infraction citations (FAQ; not stated as specific to the traffic school completion date).
Mail, In person, Phone Court's traffic school page
San Diego $52 source 90 days source Extension possible source
what the court says
The 90-day continuance to complete traffic school is described as one-time; the page mentions no further extension of the completion date.
Online, Mail, Phone, In person Court's traffic school page
San Francisco $52 source 90 days source Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. Online, Phone, In person, Mail Court's traffic school page
San Joaquin $52 source Set by court notice Extension possible source
what the court says
One-time 60-day extension on the citation due date if not past due, by telephone, in person, or by mail; past-due citations require appearing before a judge/commissioner. Not stated as specific to the traffic school completion date.
Phone, Mail, Online, In person Court's traffic school page
San Luis Obispo $70 source
note
Court page does not state a dollar amount; fee = highest bail for eligible violations plus a 'State Administrative Fee' shown on the courtesy bail notice. BOTS fragment says $70 (not verifiable on page).
91 days source Extension possible source
what the court says
Clerk's Office may give one 30-day court appearance/due date extension (request by email slotraffic@slo.courts.ca.gov or phone (805) 706-3600). Via counter arraignment (written guilty plea) a one-time 90-day extension or $50/$100 monthly payments is available and 'also available for Traffic School fees'. No traffic-school-specific completion extension stated.
Mail, In person, OnlineClerk: (805) 706-3600 Court's traffic school page
San Mateo $82 source 60 days source Extension possible source
what the court says
Clerk's Office may give one 45-day extension to complete traffic school if requested before the original traffic school due date; no further extensions. Requestable online via the Traffic Portal, by phone or in person.
Online, Mail Court's traffic school page
Santa Barbara $66 source 60 days source Extension possible source
what the court says
One 30-day extension to complete traffic violator school if requested before the certificate due date; no further extensions. Online portal advertises a one-time 30-day extension to resolve the citation.
Online, Phone, In person, Mail Court's traffic school page
Santa Clara $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call 408-556-3000. 60 days source Extension possible source
what the court says
Clerk can give one extension (continuance) of up to 30 days past the due date, no fee, requested in person, by phone or in writing before the due date; listed purposes are pay the ticket, proof of correction, or ask for a court date. Not stated for traffic school completion. (Web search snippet of the 403 self-help page suggests 60 days from payment; NOT verified.)
Online, In person, PhoneClerk: 408-556-3000 Court's traffic school page
Santa Cruz $52 source 90 days source No extension source
what the court says
No extension or grace period for the traffic school completion date.
Online, Mail, In person Court's traffic school page
Shasta $70 source 90 days source Extension possible source
what the court says
One 30-day extension of the citation due date by mail, phone, or in person; not allowed once the due date has passed or on mandatory-appearance citations. No traffic-school-specific completion extension stated.
Mail, In person Court's traffic school page
Sierra $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (530) 289-3698. 90 days source Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. Mail, In person, Online, PhoneClerk: (530) 289-3698 Court's traffic school page
Siskiyou $52 source
note
$49 TVS fee (VC 42007.1) + $3 DMV fee (VC 11208) = $52 total.
Set by court notice Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. Online, Mail, In person Court's traffic school page
Solano $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (707) 207-7360. 90 days source No extension source
what the court says
No extensions of the 90-day traffic school completion period.
Mail, In person, Online, PhoneClerk: (707) 207-7360 Court's traffic school page
Sonoma $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (707) 521-6680. Set by court notice Ask the clerk source
what the court says
Citation due-date extension available online (Pay Online / Request Payment Extension link) or by phone (707) 521-6680 (or (855) 741-7781 outside court hours). No traffic-school-specific completion extension stated.
Online, Phone, MailClerk: (707) 521-6680 Court's traffic school page
Stanislaus $52 source 90 days source Ask the clerk source
what the court says
If you cannot complete before the due date, contact the Court prior to the due date so additional arrangements can be made.
Online, In person, Mail, In person Court's traffic school page
Sutter $52 source 90 days source Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. Online, Mail, In person Court's traffic school page
Tehama $52 source 60 days source Extension possible source
what the court says
Clerk's Office may give a one-time 90-day extension of the citation due date, requested before the due date online or by phone 530-527-3563; no further extensions. Not specific to traffic school completion.
Online, Mail, In person Court's traffic school page
Trinity $52 source 60 days source Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. In person, Mail Court's traffic school page
Tulare $68 source Set by court notice Extension possible source
what the court says
Clerk's office may give a 60-day extension to post bail (online 'Request an Extension' at online.tulare.courts.ca.gov); beyond 60 days requires a written continuance request to the judicial officer. No traffic-school-specific completion extension stated.
In person, Phone, Mail, Online Court's traffic school page
Tuolumne $79 source 90 days source Extension possible source
what the court says
One 30-day extension from the courtesy notice due date by phone (209) 533-5671 or in person at 12855 Justice Center Drive, Sonora; beyond 30 days must appear before a judicial officer. Not specific to traffic school completion.
Mail, Phone, In person, Online Court's traffic school page
Ventura $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (805) 289-8545. 42 days source Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. Online, In person, PhoneClerk: (805) 289-8545 Court's traffic school page
Yolo $76 source Set by court notice Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. In person, Mail, Online Court's traffic school page
Yuba $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (530) 740-1882. Set by court notice Extension possible source
what the court says
Traffic clerks may grant a one-time 60-day extension after the courtesy notice, requested in writing, in person, or online at www.yuba.courts.ca.gov. Not specific to traffic school completion.
In person, Mail, OnlineClerk: (530) 740-1882 Court's traffic school page

Download all 58 counties (CSV) california-traffic-school-fees-by-county.csv, 23 KB How this table is verified

What the court fee is, and what it is not

When you ask a California court for traffic school, you pay two things to the court: the bail (your fine) and a non-refundable traffic school administrative fee. The fee buys you the right to have the conviction kept confidential once you finish an approved course. It does not pay for the course. The school charges its own tuition, which the court does not set and does not collect.

So the full cost of “going to traffic school” is fine + court fee + course. Only the middle number changes by county, and that is what this table tracks.

How the deadline works

The court gives you a completion date, printed on your notice, and the clock usually starts when you pay. Finish the course and the school reports your completion to the DMV electronically; the court then treats the ticket as confidential. Miss the date and the court closes the case as a normal conviction, which puts the point on your record where your insurer can see it.

Already paid the court? Our course has no timers, an open-book final, and same-day reporting to the DMV. You pay $27.99 only after you pass.

Start the course

Questions people ask before they pay

How much does traffic school cost in California in total?

Two charges. The court's traffic school fee, which is $52 in 21 counties and up to $82 in San Mateo County, paid to the court with your fine. Then the school's own course price, which the court does not set. Our California course is $27.99.

How do I request traffic school after a ticket in California?

Ask the court on your citation before the due date on your courtesy notice: online through the court's payment portal where one exists, by mail with your fine and the traffic school fee, by phone, or at the clerk's window. The table above links to each county's method. Most courts require a valid non-commercial license, a one-point infraction, no more than 25 mph over the limit, and no traffic school in the previous 18 months.

How long do I have to complete traffic school in California?

The court sets it, and it is printed on your notice. Where the court publishes a number it is usually 60 or 90 days; Los Angeles states 64 days and Ventura 6 weeks. The clock starts when you pay the fine and the traffic school fee, not when you enroll in a course.

What happens if I miss my traffic school deadline in California?

The court closes the case as a regular conviction and reports it to DMV, so the point shows on your record and your insurer can see it. Some courts allow one extension if you ask before the due date; several state that no extension is given. Contact the court clerk immediately, because a closed case usually has to be reopened before a late certificate is accepted.

Can I get a traffic school extension in California?

It depends on the county. Los Angeles allows one 60-day extension online; San Diego allows a one-time continuance; Santa Cruz and Solano say no extension is granted. Where the court page is silent, call the clerk before the due date. The extension column above quotes each court.

Is the court's traffic school fee refundable?

No. Courts describe it as a non-refundable administrative fee. If you elect traffic school and do not finish, you lose the fee and the conviction is reported.

Corrections

Courts change fees and rules without notice. If a number here no longer matches the court’s page, tell us and we will re-read the court’s page, fix the row, and log the change. Each row’s source link is the court page we read.