California traffic school prices · verified October 26, 2026

What is the cheapest online traffic school in California?

For everything included, Best Online Traffic School at $27.99. It is the only one of the 37 DMV-licensed online schools that states no timers, an open-book final, pay after you pass and same-day reporting, and includes audio in the price.

Lower prices exist, from $4, but most low-priced schools do not say you can pay after you pass, and some add fees at checkout.

Full package = course + electronic certificate + same-day reporting, from each school's own site. 37 schools checked; other schools are not named here. How we check the data.

  • Lowest priceYou pay before you passFull package$4
  • Everything included Best Online Traffic School · DMV license E1314 Full package$27.99
    • Pay only after you pass
    • Certificate, same-day reporting and audio included
    • No timers, open-book final
    Start free, pay after you pass
  • Highest priceA DMV-licensed schoolFull package$51.95

Every school's full-package price

31 of the 37 schools publish enough to price the full package. The striped part of a bar is what the school adds to its list price for the certificate or same-day reporting. The line marks the middle price, $24.95.

  1. 1DMV-licensed schoolno timers · pay first $4
  2. 2DMV-licensed schoolno timers · same-day reporting $5
  3. 3DMV-licensed schoolno timers · same-day reporting $5
  4. 4DMV-licensed schoolno timers · pay first $12.95
  5. 5DMV-licensed schooltimers not stated · pay after you pass $14.95
  6. 6DMV-licensed schoolno timers $19.95
  7. 7DMV-licensed schoolno timers · pay after you pass · same-day reporting $19.95
  8. 8DMV-licensed schooltimers not stated $19.97
  9. 9DMV-licensed schooltimers not stated · pay first · same-day reporting $20.99
  10. 10DMV-licensed schoolno timers · same-day reporting $21.95
  11. 11DMV-licensed schoolno timers · pay first · same-day reporting $23.90
  12. 12DMV-licensed schoolno timers · same-day reporting $24.95
  13. 13DMV-licensed schooltimers not stated · same-day reporting $24.95
  14. 14DMV-licensed schooltimers not stated $24.95
  15. 15DMV-licensed schoolno timers · same-day reporting $24.95
  16. 16DMV-licensed schooltimers not stated $24.95
  17. 17DMV-licensed schoolno timers · pay first · same-day reporting $25.98$19.99 + same-day reporting +$5.99
  18. 18Best Online Traffic Schoolno timers · pay after you pass · same-day reporting $27.99
  19. 19DMV-licensed schoolno timers · pay after you pass $28.90$19.95 + same-day reporting +$8.95
  20. 20DMV-licensed schooltimers not stated · pay first · same-day reporting $29.95
  21. 21DMV-licensed schooltimers not stated $30
  22. 22DMV-licensed schoolno timers · pay first · same-day reporting $33.95
  23. 23DMV-licensed schoolno timers · pay first · same-day reporting $33.95
  24. 24DMV-licensed schoolno timers · pay after you pass · same-day reporting $34.95
  25. 25DMV-licensed schooltimers not stated · same-day reporting $36.89$19.99 + e-certificate +$6.95, same-day reporting +$9.95
  26. 26DMV-licensed schoolno timers · pay first $36.95
  27. 27DMV-licensed schooltimers not stated · pay first · same-day reporting $37.90
  28. 28DMV-licensed schoolno timers · pay first $44.95
  29. 29DMV-licensed schoolno timers $49
  30. 30DMV-licensed schoolno timers · pay first $49.99$29.99 + same-day reporting +$20
  31. 31DMV-licensed schoolno timers $51.95$40 + same-day reporting +$11.95

No full price published (6)

  • DMV-licensed school$14.99 list price, plus add-ons priced at checkout
  • DMV-licensed school$19.95 list price, plus add-ons priced at checkout
  • DMV-licensed school$24.95 list price, plus add-ons priced at checkout
  • DMV-licensed school$39 list price, plus add-ons priced at checkout
  • DMV-licensed schoolPrice shown only at checkout
  • DMV-licensed schoolPrice shown only at checkout

Where the extra charges are

A low headline price is not always the total. What the 37 schools add, from their own sites:

  • 10 schoolssell same-day reporting as an extra$5.99 to $20 where the price is published; 5 do not say what it costs. Without it, your completion can take days to reach the court.
  • 7 schoolsshow a coupon price, not the list priceThe list price is $5.01 to $20 higher. This page compares list prices.
  • 2 schoolscharge for the electronic certificate$6.95 where the price is published.
  • 2 schoolsadd a processing fee$2.50 to $5, on top of the course.
  • 7 schoolssell audio read-along separately$4.95 to $9.95 where the price is published. Optional, but useful if you would rather listen.
  • 2 schoolsshow no price until you registerYou find out what it costs after you have started.
  • $27.99is the full package at Best Online Traffic SchoolElectronic certificate, same-day reporting and audio included, and you pay only after you pass. The only extras are optional: a mailed printed certificate and case-status alerts.

Before you pick the lowest price: five checks

What the 10 lowest-priced schools state on their own sites, next to ours. "Not stated" means the site does not say either way. Ours is the only school of the 37 that states all five.

CheckOf the 10 lowest-pricedOurs
Pay only after you passIf you do not pass, you have not paid. 2 say yes, 3 no, 5 not stated Yes
No timersYou can finish as fast as you read. 7 say yes, 3 not stated Yes
Open-book finalYou can look back at the lessons during the exam. 8 say yes, 2 not stated Yes
Same-day reporting includedThe court gets your completion the day you finish. 5 say yes, 4 no, 1 not stated Yes
Audio included in the priceListen to the course instead of reading it. 0 say yes, 7 no, 3 not stated Yes

The expensive mistake is the deadline, not the course.

If the court does not get your completion in time, the ticket goes on your record with its point, and for the typical California driver that point adds about $3,039 to car insurance over three years. What skipping traffic school costs in your county.

Questions about cheap traffic school

What is the cheapest online traffic school in California?
For everything included, Best Online Traffic School at $27.99: it is the only one of the 37 DMV-licensed online schools that states no timers, an open-book final, pay after you pass and same-day reporting, and includes audio in the price. The lowest advertised full-package price is $4, and half of the 31 schools that publish one charge $24.95 or less, but most low-priced schools do not say you can pay after you pass. "Full package" means the course plus an electronic certificate and same-day reporting, so every school is priced for the same thing.
Which traffic school includes everything in the price?
Best Online Traffic School, at $27.99. Of the 37 DMV-licensed online schools, 3 state all four of no timers, an open-book final, pay after you pass and same-day reporting, and ours is the only one of those that also includes audio read-along in the price. Nothing is required at checkout; the only extras are optional (a mailed printed certificate and case-status alerts).
Are there hidden fees in cheap traffic schools?
Some. Of the 37 schools, 10 sell same-day reporting as an extra ($5.99 to $20 where the price is published), 2 charge for the electronic certificate, 7 show a coupon price instead of the list price, and 2 show no price until you register. Ours includes the certificate, same-day reporting and audio in $27.99; the only extras are optional.
Is a $5 traffic school legit?
If it is on the DMV's list of licensed traffic violator schools, yes: every California court accepts completion from any DMV-licensed school, whatever it charges. Check the license number on the school's site against the DMV list before you pay. Every school on this page is DMV-licensed; ours is E1314.
Do I need the add-ons my traffic school is charging for?
You need the court to receive your completion before your deadline. If a school reports in a few business days and your deadline is close, paying for faster reporting can be worth it; schools that include same-day reporting save you the choice. Audio read-along and printed certificates are optional.
How do I get a traffic school promo code?
Coupon sites list codes for many schools, but they do not always work, and 7 schools already show a coupon price as their headline. Compare list prices, then add what each school charges for the certificate and same-day reporting. With us you pay $27.99 only after you pass the final exam.
Is one-day traffic school legit?
There is no official "one-day" course, but online traffic school can be finished in a day. Online schools without timers let you move at your own pace; ours takes most people two to three hours. Any DMV-licensed school's completion counts, however fast you finish.
Is the cheapest traffic school the best choice?
Only if it states what you need. Of the 10 lowest-priced schools, 2 say you can pay after you pass, 5 state same-day reporting and 0 include audio. Best Online Traffic School states all of it for $27.99. Missing the court's deadline costs far more than any course: the point stays on your record and adds about $3,039 to the typical driver's car insurance over three years.

$27.99 everything the court needs

  • Pay only after you pass
  • No timers, open-book final
  • Same-day reporting to the court and DMV
  • Audio read-along included
  • Two attempts at each final exam, free course retakes
  • DMV license E1314

School prices and rules from each school's own website, verified October 26, 2026. Method.